Latest Training

Follow Us

Saturday, November 22, 2014

A one day course introducing nautical archaeology and the NAS. The day includes a mix of theory and practical sessions. This venue does not offer diving.

Saturday, November 29, 2014

This two day course offers participants an insight into the subject of Dendrochronology. Cost: £158 (non-members).

Thursday, October 30, 2014

A new course with NAS Training Partner REITIA - Centro di Formazione per la Documentazione Subacquea (Underwater Survey Training Center) in collaboration with Centro Sub Campi Flegrei within

Saturday, February 28, 2015

A one day Fieldschool at Fort Cumberland that covers 2D recording and survey techniques in the morning and 3D recording and survey techniques in the afternoon.

Saturday, March 21, 2015

A one day course introducing nautical archaeology and the NAS. The day includes a mix of theory and practical sessions.

Friday, June 26, 2015

A one day course introducing nautical archaeology and the NAS. The day includes a mix of theory and practical sessions.

Saturday, June 27, 2015

A two day course building on the knowledge and skills learnt during the NAS Introduction course, including theory and practical sessions.

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Do you find the law relating to underwater archaeology a little baffling?

Sunday, March 1, 2015

A one day course looking at how to record guns in both 2 and 3 Dimensions.

Saturday, March 7, 2015

Paper and pencil drawings not for you?

Saturday, April 18, 2015

A chance to have a go at designing and completing a location survey and a condition assessment survey on a site using an ROV with this 2 day course.

Saturday, April 25, 2015

Why are cordage, ropes and rigging important and how can we go about recording it? This 2 day course will answer these questions and more.

Saturday, May 16, 2015

An introduction to the basics of archaeological illustration.

Saturday, June 6, 2015

A closer look at the naval weapons and their development in the run up to the First World War, including a chance to view some of the reserve collections and a demonstration firing of the Hotchkiss

Saturday, June 13, 2015

Have a go at flying a quadcopter and using the results to help create a virtual reality Fort Cumberland.  This 2 day course will look at how this exciting technology has applications for maritime h

Saturday, July 11, 2015

In pairs or small groups you will be collect materials and build a coracle (basket boat), then put your building skills to the test by trying your coracle on the water.

Saturday, September 19, 2015

From human and animal bones to plant remains and pollen, biological remains can provide information on past environments, economies, health and diet.

Saturday, October 17, 2015

Participants must have attended the NAS Part 3 Course in marine geophysics or be able to demonstrate relevant, recent experience.

Saturday, November 28, 2015

If you find the thought of using the National Archives daunting, or if you have tried to find documents with no success, this is the course for you.

Saturday, April 11, 2015

M33 is a survivor of Gallipoli and is one of only two significant British warships to have survived from the First World War.